The Rising Tide of Migration

Presently, we are focused on migration of refugees from war and issues of statelessness. As this piece warns, we soon will be seeing refugees from sea level rise.

Emerging threats- As a rising tide of migration. Two excerpts:

With sea levels on the rise, several island nations are scrambling to stay above water and ensure citizens will have a place to go when the ocean engulfs their homeland. The humanitarian-crisis phase of climate change has officially begun.
In total, climate change may displace up to a quarter-billion people by 2050, according to research cited by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. That means, within our lifetimes, climate change could become a human rights emergency that grinds global governance to a halt. How the global community chooses to address this seemingly inevitable problem will help define international relations for the rest of this century.”

Posted in Sea Level Rise | 1 Comment

Statement on Resilience

NAS and G-7 Statement on Strengthening Disaster Resilience is Essential to Sustainable Development

Posted in Resilience | Leave a comment

IT Specialists Also Are First Responders

A lifeline After Disaster: The Internet.

 

| Leave a comment

Webinar from FEMA – May 12

Announcing a new webinar – “FEMA Promising Practice: Disability Inclusion in Planning and Hawaii Personal Preparedness”

May 12th, 2016

Webinars begin at 2.30pm ET/1.30pm CT/12.30 pm MT/11.30am PT/8.30am Hawaii.

Registration: Free on-line at http://www.adapresentations.org/registration.php

 

| Leave a comment

The Variables of Disasters

Time magazine featured this article recently.  The facts they present don’t seem strange to me, but the examples cited are interesting and it never hurts to remind folks of the many determinants of the effects of disasters.

See: These 5 Facts Explain the Strange Politics of Natural Disasters

| Leave a comment

If You Like This Blog, Please Support It

 


The Diva has been writing this blog for more than 6 years, during which time more than  2,100 postings have been published.  That is a lot of donated time, energy, and money from the Diva. Assuming most of you do not have a research assistant, we perform that role for you. Please make a contribution so that the Diva can pay for  the help needed to cover the cost of preparing the index of content.

The annotated index of the major postings, by topic, for the entire period. We call it the Roundup of Recent Resources in Emergency Management (2010-2015), and it’s an excellent resource for consultants, academics, and students. Where else could you get this many digital resources in one place ?  This recent 41-page index can be yours immediately, if you donate $25. dollars or more to the blog. New: special rate of $10. for students.

Go to the Donate Now button in the upper right-hand column of the blog’s homepage.

 

 

 

| Leave a comment

National Health Security and Preparedness Index

National Health Security and Preparedness Index for 2016.

I had to hunt around for the details contained in the report. This summary chart provides an overview and a national map.

My home state, Virginia, ranks slightly above the national average, but below the national average for the component called Community Planning and Engagement. As a staff at the local OEM, that is not good news.

Thanks to Arnold Bogis for helping me find VA in the index.

 

| Leave a comment