Author Archives: recoverydiva

Computing Power Helps Flood Mitigation

Modern computing power may help mitigate future flood disasters

Posted in Mitigation | Leave a comment

Climate Change and Its Effects on Infrastructure

From the WashPost: Phoenix heat, Tropical Storm Cindy show how climate change is a threat to our infrastructure

Posted in Climate Change, Infrastructure | Leave a comment

NAS Books on Resilience – free to download

Go to this link: http://mailchi.mp/nas/free-resources-for-disaster-resilience?e=d4130264bf

| Leave a comment

Reports on Alberta, Canada Wildfires

Thanks to Steve Armstrong, I have copies of two lengthy after-action reports on the wildfires and evacuation in Alberta Canada last year. Since they are 176 and 82 pages long, I will not mount them here. Anyone who wants the … Continue reading

Posted in Canada | Leave a comment

Webinar re Disabilities – July 13th

Announcing a new webinar:“ADA National Network Learning Session: Emergency Planning for Institutional Facilities.” July 13th, 2017 Webinars begin at 2.30pm ET/1.30pm CT/12.30 pm MT/11.30am PT/9.30am Hawaii. Registration: Free on-line at http://www.adapresentations.org/registration.php Registration closes at midnight, July 12th, 2017.

| Leave a comment

Video on State’s Role in Recovery

Half hour video on the role of states in disaster recovery: link is here. This video was  released last year by the Coastal Resilience Center.  Thanks to Alessandra Jerroleman for the link. By the way, there is a facebook group … Continue reading

Posted in State Preparedness & Response | Leave a comment

Improved Hurricane Decision Support

More capable hurricane decision support platform helps emergency managers Hurricane Matthew was one of the first operational uses of DHS’s S&T HURREVAC-eXtended (HV-X) platform. The HV-X platform integrates forecast and planning data to provide emergency managers decision support tools for … Continue reading

Posted in Hurricane | Leave a comment